Chinese culture

Catch a colorful revue of Chinese music, dance and pleas for religious freedom in the tour of “Shen Yun” at multiple locations this season: first at the Coronado Performing Arts Center, 314 N. Main St., Rockford, $80-$150; then the Civic Opera House, 20 N. Wacker Drive, Chicago, $80-$200; then at the Paramount Theatre, 23 E. Galena Blvd., Aurora, $80-$200, (630) 896-6666; then at the Rosemont Theatre, 5400 N. River Road, Rosemont, $80-$200. (800) 745-3000 or shenyun.com. In Rockford: 3 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 22-23; in Chicago: 2 p.m. Thursday and Saturday, Dec. 27 and 29, 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday, Dec. 28 and 29, and 1 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 30; in Aurora: 7:30 p.m. Thursday and Saturday, Jan. 10 and 12, 2 p.m. Friday and Saturday, Jan. 11 and 12, and 1 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 13; in Rosemont: 7:30 p.m. Thursday and Saturday, Feb. 14 and 16, 2 p.m. Friday and Saturday, Feb. 15 and 16, and 1 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 17

Going places

Celebrities Rick Steves, Samantha Brown and more appear at the Travel & Adventure Show Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 12-13, at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, 5555 N. River Road, Rosemont. $15 one-day ticket; $22 two-day ticket; $15 parking. (847) 692-2220 or travelshows.com. 10 to 5 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 12, and 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 13

Piano parade

American Grands XXIV celebrates piano players by featuring 12 grand pianos generously provided by Cordogan’s Pianoland on Saturday, Jan. 26, at Elgin Community College’s Blizzard Theatre, 1700 Spartan Drive, Elgin. $24; $15 kids 12 and younger. (847) 622-0300 or elgin.edu/arts. 1, 4 and 7 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 26

#article_video width:100%;margin:25px 0;overflow:hidden;

Let’s have fun! (??)

Load More By Helena Byrum
Load More In Adventure

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Wellness Tourism Association Predicts Five Trends for 2019 – Luxury Travel Advisor

The Wellness Tourism Association (WTA) has picked out what it predicts will be the top fiv…